top of page

Yet Another Bone to Pick with the Previous Owners of Our Home....

I think I have made myself clear on my distaste of the beige color scheme. It looks like mud! No offense to those of you who have your home decorated in these types of colors, however, my walls were the color of murky mud puddles and it went on for far too long! Some people have a way of pulling it off, but my home decor of blues, greens and hints of corals and yellows just seemed to clash. So where am I going with this you ask? Well, Scout and I were painting some furniture over the weekend (yes, Scout helped! She had brushed the paint around with her fur, as did Simon...). As I was sitting on the floor I noticed just how disgusting my interior doors and trim where. And when I say disgusting I mean I am pretty sure I found a 3 year old bugger plastered on the bottom of the door from one of the previous owners children (I died a little inside). Not only that, they were covered in scuff marks, dents, crayon/marker nicks, and God knows what else. SOOOOOO while I waited for the paint to dry on the furniture I decided why not start on the doors and trim. Well to my surprise, as I began the door, I realized the paint on them was never truly white to begin it..... IT WAS MANILA! ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME?!?!

If you look closely, the door on the right shows the manila color better, I didn't take the best pictures in the world, I was still fuming. When I was done painting the doors and trim in the hallway, I could not believe the difference. Not only did they not look like sh*t anymore, the entire hallway looked brighter! I gave up after both Scout and Simon ended up with a large stripe of paint down there bodies, so I have saved the remainder of the trim and the other side of the doors for another day in the near future. It's amazing what a little bit of paint can do. Below you can see Simon's handy help and Scout's white patch on her side the following day.

The moral of the story, Please do not ever paint your doors and trim an off white. I always thought it was a little off, but our hallway is dark. Keep it white; it is clean and simple! Stay tuned for our next escapades and remember to keep Scouting it out with Me! and Scout!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page