top of page

The Art of Entertaining

I cannot believe December is here with Christmas on its way! The holidays are one of my favorite times of the year. Of course, who isn't excited for the holiday season? It is a time for giving (not just receiving, although I think anyone would be lying if they said they didn't have a few items on their own lists), decorating, celebrating the season, and for some of us, hosting holiday parties!

 

I love being the hostess. I am a planner and perfectionist; which means I drive my husband crazy on a daily basis. When we entertain everything must be in order, look its absolute best, and for big events, decorated perfectly. Each year we scour the stores for new ornaments, decor, tableware, and anything else that catches our eye. I like for our home to feel cozy and festive.

View at Wayfair

(Click on the photos for link to website)

 

While setting up for gatherings or parties, I like to have dedicated areas for everything. I roll in a bar cart to set up the liquor, mixers, glassware, and ice. The counter top bar becomes an horderves buffet while the dining room is set for dinner. Festive coasters decorate the coffee and end tables to invite drinks to sit on them (whether or not that actually happens is a different story in and of itself). The mantel and tree are lit and holiday music is played throughout the evening. And in true holiday spirit some disaster is bound to occur. In our home it usually consists of Simon (our cat) jumping on the table to try and get some tasty treats or Scout (our dog) running for a toy, mauling over someone in her hot pursuit, and red wine spilling because said guest is now on the floor.

 

While red is not normally in my color wheel, there is something about the vibrant color that screams HOLIDAYS to me. I like to add a touch with red throw blankets, pillows, and place-mats. To break up the vibrancy of the color I like to add white and light beige undertones. This is a drastic change from my normal gray and blue/green hues.

 

My main issue from year to year is my dining room table. I always feel my center piece is just a little too generic or not keeping with the rest of my theme. However, this year I plan to master it. My center piece will be full of garland and pillar candles. My table will pop with the place settings and still keep some of its coastal cottage charm with the nautical napkin rings below. With the red place-mats, white china, and red napkins my table will be festive and inviting!

 

My home is about to be holiday ready, just a few more items are needed for it to be 100% and entertainment to begin. In fact, in crazed perfectionist fashion, I am going to rope my husband into finishing my masterpiece today! Seasons Greetings! And stay tuned so you can Scout it Out with Me!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page