top of page

Small Town Living


Spending most of my childhood in a small town, I could not wait to get out and experience life in a large city. I always loved visiting my family in New York and devoured every ounce of my experiences (and the food). I thrived on the hustle and bustle; it heightened my senses and enthralled me. The new experiences seemed unending and I always felt more empowered with each trip. But as always, life would continue on, the adventures would end, and I would need to return home.

I didn't end up appreciating my small town until I moved away. I enjoyed my college years and the years after, but home was always home. Charlotte was a spread out city and I often found myself traveling all around to get together with friends. My husband and I then found ourselves spending more time at Lake Norman trying to get a hint of our old lives back at the beach. It finally occurred to us it was time to leave the city and find a sense of "home" again. We missed our small beach town, the sand between our toes, and summer days spent on the water. We missed the views, the salty air, and the steady pace of life. We realized our small, sleepy town was now our dream; and so we returned.

Often times people believe life in a small beach town to be dull. But I wonder how can people say this when so many come here to vacation? They come to relax and enjoy the ocean and boating; I get to enjoy it everyday of my life. Don't get me wrong, there are times when I miss the conveniences of city living, but all in all I live a happier life here. I enjoy eating dinner down on the waterfront, taking a stroll on the beach to clear my head, and boating and fishing at my leisure. I take in the charm of Swansboro and Beaufort and remember the rich history which resides in our communities here. Small doesn't necessarily mean sleepy, often times the best things come in small packages :)

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page